Irish Economic Association Annual Conference 2024 – Call for Papers

The 37th Annual Irish Economic Association Conference is being organised by the Discipline of Economics, University of Galway and will be held at the Galway Bay Hotel, Salthill, Galway on Thursday 9th and Friday 10th May 2024. The keynote speakers are Prof. Costas Meghir, Douglas A. Warner III Professor of Economics at Yale University, and Prof. Lucrezia Reichlin, Professor of Economics at London Business School.

Three types of submissions to the conference are invited:

1) Full presentations: These are 25 minutes in length and require the submission of a full paper by the person who intends to present.
2) Short presentations (Flash Talks): These are 10 mins in length, can be work-in-progress, and require the submission of either an extended abstract (approx. 2 pages) or early draft paper. While short presentations are aimed primarily at providing early career researchers with an opportunity to present their work and develop their conference experience and skills, these sessions are also open to more experienced researchers who wish to present early-stage work and/or give a shorter presentation.
3) Organised sessions: These are full sessions of 1.5 hours on a specific topic or area and are a new initiative at the IEA conference. Proposals for organised sessions must be submitted by one person (i.e. the organiser) and the session should include at least 3 but no more than 4 papers to be presented. One submission should be made by the organiser, and this should include extended abstracts and/or full papers for each presentation, along with a one-page overview and description of the organised session. The inclusion of at least one discussant is encouraged.

The deadline for all submissions is midnight on Tuesday February 6th 2024 and submissions can be made via the conference website: Please note that no author-identifying information should be included in any uploaded file(s) i.e. papers, extended abstracts, and organised session proposals.

A number of prizes will be awarded at the conference including the Denis Conniffe prize for best paper by a young economist, the Brendan Walsh prize for best paper published in the Economic and Social Review, the Novartis prize for best health economics paper, and the Irish Society for Women in Economics (ISWE) prize for best paper presented by a woman economist.

There will also be some pre-conference activities held at the conference venue on the afternoon and evening of Wednesday May 8th 2024. Details to be confirmed in due course.

By John Cullinan

John Cullinan is Professor in Economics at University of Galway. He is an applied economist with research interests in health, disability and higher education.